Achilles Last Stand

Dear 2010,

Whoa..what a year it has been. There were some ups but my 2010 has been dominated by downs..mainly one down but it was a big one. It was such a big down that it made whatever ups I have invisible and I can’t remember the other small (or smaller) downs I had. Lets say it cast a shadow to the whole year.

2010 has been…hmm..if I were to describe it in one word: sad. I spend a lot of time alone (some by chance and others by choice) considering if the life I am living is the one I want. I spend time with my family – more than ever..probably more than when I was in university. I flew back and forth to Malaysia a few times..I spend a lot of time in the airport and on airplanes – reading (I read loads of crap – I want my 8 hours back!!!- and found some gems as well), listening to music (I don’t care that you’re 60 ++ years old Jimmy Page, but I still think you’re hot! You too, Robert Plant..love the hair!!)  and did a lot of sudoku and crossword.  Airports are not fun..neither is flying.

Train rides are something different – I think train rides are the best time to daydream. If you’re lucky, you might even make a movie out of it (i.e. Peter Jackson while on that epic Tranzalpine New Zealand trip) or a book or an opus! Yup, I’m still waiting for that right train journey to write my magnum opus (I think it’ll either be the Trans-Siberian Rail or the Orient Express..the Orient Express sounds more romantic..I have a feeling on the Trans-Siberian Rail I might try to finish War and Peace..haha).

So 2010, you have robbed me of a loved one, left me with a lot of sadness, made me doubt my sanity and my reasons for being so isolated and given me time to brew some interesting inner demons…I have digested them all, put on rose-coloured glasses and look forward to 2011 being a better year.

Oh and happy new year people.

Sincerely,

Meddie B

Published in: on December 30, 2010 at 11:20 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lestrois.wordpress.com/2010/12/30/achilles-last-stand/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] wrote a “Dear 2010″ letter here – please check it out -and the whole site!- if you have time..we’re all wonderful […]


Leave a Reply

